Daughter of Smoke and Bone by Laini Taylor

I am terrified to write a review about this book.

Why, you may ask.

 

How can one explain God’s goodness? How can one put into words the love He has for us? How can one explain the feeling of loving your newborn child? How can one explain the feeling you get while kissing the one person you love more than anyone? Is it possible to understand the mere beauty of a twinkling sky from the middle of nowhere without being there yourself? How can one express the magnificent taste of a Chili’s molten chocolate cake?

You can’t.

There just aren’t words for the greater things in life.

And I cannot fathom words to explain this book.

 

Every avid reader stumbles across a terrible book in their lifetime. All of them read multiple okay books. We all have read and will read good books. Hopefully, we can all recite our favorite books, the great ones we have read.

I have books for every category.

But how often do we stumble across a book that we love SO much, that we are almost… jealous of it? A book we don’t want to share, because it’s our special book?

I have a few of those.

And I just read another one.

But the thing is, when something is as amazing as love for a baby, a kiss, the midnight sky or, yes, a Chili’s molten chocolate cake, you can’t NOT share it.

EVERYONE should know the beauty that is Daughter of Smoke and Bone.

When I think of my favorite books, many come to mind, The Fault in Our Stars by John Green (still my favorite single book, the brilliance of that book fits into the above category of things you cannot explain), Gone by Michael Grant, of course, The Hunger Games and Harry Potter, and multiple Ted DeKker (my favorite author) books. But from now on, I have a new book to add to that list.

It has been a while (six months) since I have read a book and fell utterly in love with the world, the characters, the plot and the author. I’ve read good books, but it has been six months since I have read a… near perfect book. (Excluding TFIOS) My heart… I haven’t loved, been invested, CRIED, screamed, stiffened or been glued to a book in so long.

I can’t put into words this book. The writing and the style is great. I loved the order of the stories. I love the characters, the connections and the plot. I love how this isn’t a love story that is ONLY of love story. There is so much more. There’s more meat, more emotion, more things to care about.

THIS ISN’T A FAIRTALE.

But it is.

THIS ISN’T ABOUT ANGELS AND DEMONS

But it is.

THIS ISN’T A STORY ABOUT A MAGICAL WORLD APART FROM OUR OWN

But… it is.

I don’t know how to explain it. Laini Taylor took an idea and stripped it to the bones. She took what we’ve known, what we have read before, and made her own world around it. And I applaud her.

 

Have you finished reading TFIOS? Good. Now read this. It may be one of the very few books that won’t disappoint you after reading that one.

1 thought on “Daughter of Smoke and Bone by Laini Taylor

  1. kbug66

    Now I have 2 books to read on vacation but I haven’t finished the Divergent series. So many books, so little time. I don’t know how you do it. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a comment